The Bridge on the River Kwai
01.08.2011 - 02.08.2011 30 °C
The Bridge on the River Kwai has become notoriously famous and has attracted both Thais and foreigners to this site.
The bridge spans across River Khwai Yai. While the Japanese were occupying Thailand during the Second World War, the Japanese Imperial Army brought the iron bridge from Java. It was then assembled by Allied Prisoners of War, mainly British and Australians, under Japanese supervision. The bridge was part of a strategic railway route to Burma in which the Japanese aimed to secure supplies with which to conquer other western Asian countries. It was 415 kilometers long (about 300 kilometers in Thailand and about 110 kilometers in Burma) and passed through the Three Pagoda Pass in Sangkhlaburi District, the northern most part of Kanchanaburi province.
The construction of the bridge began in mid September, 1942 at Nong Pladuk, and was completed on 25 December 1943. It is estimated that over 16,000 POWs and 90,000 labourers from Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia and Indonesia died during the construction mainly through cruel treatment from the Japanese.
The bridge was rebuilt after the war and is still used today with the curved portions of the bridge being from the original construction. A spectacular attraction takes part every November and consists of a light and sound event at the bridge to commemorate the Allied attack in 1945.
Well worth a visit at any time of the year. Stay the night, or just a day trip from Bangkok.